Amber Rose Breaks Down While Discussing Husband Wiz Khalifa At “Slut Walk LA”

I have to be honest, when I first heard about Amber Rose’s “Slut Walk” movement I was confused. Why would Ms. Rose call herself a slut, feeding into the many men and women who attacked her and so many other women by using this demeaning word. After doing some research, I understand Amber’s attempts to shine a national light and discussion on women’s equality through this event. In our society, a woman who is a sexual being, may be considered a slut or hoe for simply having a sex drive. In our society, it is ok for a man to lay with as many women or men as he wants and is never crucified for his actions. Instead in many instances, he may be praised for “baggin’ hoes”. Amber Rose’s purpose for the walk was to bring awareness to women who’ve  been “slut shamed”, sexually assaulted, or raped.

During Ms. Rose’s speech, she spoke about the first time she was “slut shamed” at 14 years old while still a virgin. She also goes on to speak on her relationship with Kanye West. Taking the high road, Amber forgives Kayne for his infamous “30 Showers” comment. I NEED A FULL TIME OUT HERE! When Kanye made this statement, did he forget all the songs and albums he made about Amber Rose, and how hurt he was over that break up. He definitely tried it! I digress. Ms. Rose goes on to say, “Unfortunately, I was extremely slut shamed. I was called ‘nothing but a stripper.’ [He said] why would he ever be interested in me, I’m just a bald-head stripper from Philly,” Amber said of West. “I was a gold-digger; apparently he had to take 30 showers after being with me. That’s what he said. I get that, just washed all my sexy bald-headedness off of his ass.”

Amber then goes on to speak about husband’s Wiz Khalifa. While admitting that the pair are separated but on better terms now, and that they still love each other, she admits and began’s to break down about Wiz’s lyric in Juicy J’s “For Everybody” track. Rose tearfully explains, “He went on to make a song saying that he ‘fell in love with a stripper, but fell out of love quicker.’ As you can imagine, him being the love of my life, regardless if we’re going through a separation or not, that was extremely hurtful.

In the end Rose explains how she has forgiven Kanye who hasn’t apologized and Wiz who already has, all while encouraging the audience to do the same. “I want to forgive Kanye for what he said about me. I want to let all that negativity go. I also forgive Wiz for what he said. Wiz actually apologized to me already, so I have forgiven him. I suggest that you guys do the same, and I’ll tell you why: because they’re ignorant at times. People are ignorant, and you have to be the bigger person, and be the positive person to forgive and move on and help other people around you that have been through the same thing.”

It’s sad but pretty common in our society to label, or brand a person based on assumptions. Think about it, how many of us athletes have been thought to be stupid jocks in school, because we played sports. How many young girls have been labeled promiscuous because they simply have a lot of male friends. How many times has a woman been labeled careless, heartless, or evil because of her choice to have an abortion. How many Black people are assumed to be criminals, lazy, or angry simply because of our skin color, or the neighborhoods we grew up in.

For myself, personally I have been assumed to be all the above and more. Till this day, people assume that I am a lesbian simply because I played basketball, I now have locs, and I’m sometimes rough around the edges. True story, one day I walked into a RiteAid to get a Plan B (yes I’m on birth control, but you can never be too cautious). As I approach the counter, I noticed the young woman and I used to go to high school together. As we make small talk and I hand her the items in my hand, she looked at the Plan B then at me and asked “I thought you were gay”. I smiled and said ‘Nope I’ve never been, but y’all said I was’…….

With that being said, fight on Amber Rose. Hopefully one day we as women will no longer be scrutinize for simply living life the way we want to, for whatever choices we choose to.

Watch Amber Rose’s “Slut Walk” speech below.

Leave a Reply

